Lesley's Lessons and Learnings

Butterflies

Posted on: January 25, 2011

Public speaker? Mmm, I’m not so sure. Would I like to be? Absolutely.

Tomorrow morning, I am honoured to have the opportunity to be a part of a presentation with my principal, George Couros, to a parent community.  George asked me to be a part of a presentation with a colleague and very close friend of mine, Corre Mahan.  The presentation is entitled Connecting and Sharing and focuses on the 21st century learner and how connecting and sharing within the classroom is empowering students and preparing them to be successful in the digital society that we live in. George will also be focusing on what parents can do to help support this learning within the classroom community.

I am excited to be a part of this and to have been offered this opportunity.  I am also nervous when I think about speaking in front of a group of parents.  I have often asked myself why I get nervous talking in front of groups of people.  “I talk all day with kids, why should it be hard with adults” right?!  Furthermore, I believe in the subject and am confident in what we are doing in the classroom, so why is it so hard on my nerves?

I think I’ve got it!  Yes, I may feel confident in what we’re discussing.  Yes, we have concrete examples of success with blogging within the classroom.  And yes, we have made connections around the world leading us to incredible experiences for the kids.  But it’s a challenge!  I should be nervous.  It’s a new audience.  If I wasn’t nervous, I might be worried.  It’s like the first day of a new school year.  I’m nervous every year and can’t sleep the night before the first day of school, but it’s a good nervous!  It’s an “excitement-nervous”!

So, tomorrow morning when I’m feeling those butterflies, I’m going to remind myself of why we are doing the things we’re doing in the classroom and share my successful experiences with my students using Web 2.0 tools.  I will try to show confidence in the subject and ultimately, my belief that this is good for kids.  That’s all I can do.

It’s a challenge and I can’t wait!

7 Responses to "Butterflies"

Nerves show that you want to do well, which usually lead you to doing well.

I am looking forward to tomorrow. I am also looking forward to sitting in the audience when you do it on your own 🙂

You’re right and I agree… I want to do well. As with my personality, I try to give 110% all the time. I’m looking forward to it too.

Thanks for the opportunity!

Great post Lesley, I am confident that Corrie and youself will do great presenting. You are ready, and you are right if you weren’t nervous something would be wrong.

Good luck if you need help – Skype me I am willing to help.

Thanks, Shawn! Appreciate your confidence!!

What about me you jerk 😛

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Twitter Feed

